What now?

Yoselin Person
8 min readJul 1, 2024
Photo by Jukan Tateisi on Unsplash

2024 is almost over and so could be my career working in corporate media.

Damn, time really goes by so fast.

It feels just like yesterday, I graduated from college and then drove all the way to West Texas to begin my career in tv broadcast journalism.

I was 21 at the time.

Just a naive Caribbean Brooklyn homebody girl that always set plans for herself.

As a kid, I’ve always wanted to be a reporter.

I was 10 years-old when I began google searching and planning out ways to get to where I want to be.

I even mapped out on how to get into Edward R. Murrow High School, a specialized school of journalism/ performing arts in Brooklyn.

My 8th grade year, I got accepted to go to Murrow.

I was so excited and got to thinking it should be easy peasy to get to my dream.

Applying for college came by.

But before that junior year of high school, I was so determined into studying the SAT’s/ACT’s because again I mapped out what I needed to do to get into the colleges I was interested in going too.

Senior year arrived and I was ready to apply to college that best fit my financial needs while having a decent program for the career I’ve been chasing for.

--

--

Yoselin Person

26, reporter. I love writing. I love getting people uncomfortable with words because it shows that I’m doing something right — educating the truth.